Civil Society Leadership Awards are funded by the Open Society Foundation and provides full funding for students pursuing master’s degree. Scholarship recipients will study at host universities such as Duke and Columbia University for two years to receive a master’s degree.

Scholarship Amount

  1. Summer School
  2. Airplane Ticket
  3. Tuition and fees
  4. Room, board, and a monthly stipend
  5. Insurance

Eligibility Requirements

  1. Be a citizen of an eligible country
  2. Pursue a degree in an eligible field of study
  3. Have a bachelor’s degree
  4. Demonstrate proficiency in the language of instruction (English, German or French) at a level required for admission by host universities
  5. Be able to participate in an intensive pre-academic summer school in July or August and start their degree program in August or September
  6. Be able to receive and maintain a visa or study permit as required by the host country

Eligible Country List

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Azerbaijan
  3. Belarus
  4. Cambodia
  5. Democratic Republic of Congo
  6. Egypt
  7. Equatorial Guinea
  8. Eritrea
  9. Ethiopia
  10. Laos
  11. Libya
  12. Myanmar/Burma
  13. Republic of Congo
  14. South Sudan
  15. Sudan
  16. Syria
  17. Tajikistan
  18. Turkmenistan
  19. Uzbekistan

Eligible Fields of Study

  1. Communications, Journalism & Media
  2. Culture, History & Society
  3. Development Studies
  4. Economics
  5. Education Management & Leadership
  6. Environment & Natural Resource Management
  7. Gender Studies
  8. Human Rights
  9. Law (including Human Rights law)
  10. Politics & International Studies
  11. Public Health Policy & Health Management
  12. Public Policy & Administration
  13. Social Work & Social Policy

Students studying in areas not listed above such as engineering and science are not eligible to receive this scholarship.

Check Also: Master’s Programs for International Students

Host Universities

There are many institutions that are hosting Civil Society Leadership Awards around the world. For the complete list, visit the official scholarship page.

How to Apply for Civil Society Leadership Awards

  1. Applications must be submitted by mid-July.
  2. Applicants will be notified of their status by email in September.
  3. Applicants selected as semi-finalists will be invited for an in-person, Skype, or telephone interview to be held in October or November.
  4. Semi-finalists will be required to take an official language test by the end of November.
  5. CSLA will have a final selection meeting in November, and results will be sent via e-mail by mid-December.
  6. Finalists will be notified of their recommended host university placement; some finalists may be asked to submit separate applications to potential host universities at this time.
  7. CLSA will confirm the placement of finalists at a CSLA host university and the CSLA grant will be offered via email in Spring.

Official Scholarship Pages



I hope that this article on the Civil Society Leadership Awards was helpful. Make sure to also check out the Master’s Programs for International Students!